A Letter of Thanks to Stephen Hawking

Dear Sir,

Along with the millions who carry words of praise for you in their hearts, I would first like to thank you for all the great scientific work that you have done. You made it easier for the common man to understand the most important facts of the universe.

I was specially very happy to read the following lines in the concluding chapter from your book titled, ‘A brief history of time’ 

“However, if we do discover a complete theory, it should in time be understandable in broad principle by everyone, not just a few scientists. Then we shall all, philosophers, scientists, and just ordinary people, be able to take part in the discussion of the question of why it is that we and the universe exist. If we find the answer to that, it would be the ultimate triumph of human reason – for then we would know the mind of God. “

These lines reminded me of my journey of discovering God all these years. As a child I paid little attention to what the religious scriptures said about God or what my parents said. I graduated as an engineer and pursued a professional career. All the while there was a vacuum in my life. For every decision that I took on job had a purpose, every project I did had its well defined objectives, but could not figure out the objective of my life.

For some time I thought that the objective should be doing well for the society. But then who will define what is good and what is bad? Different people have different opinions. When I took up an anti-alcohol campaign thinking about the various crimes that are committed under its influence, many people stopped me saying that doctors say that beer is good for our heart. What guidelines should I follow? What I consider bad, others think it is good and vice versa! The universe cannot run like this. There has to be some common reference for good and bad.

I got the answer when I picked up the Operation & Instruction manual for my newly bought microwave oven. Then I knew that the manufacturer is the best person to advice on the purpose and the method of operation of a thing. Then I remembered my parents telling me that God has created all human beings and sent down books to guide our living through different prophets, the final version of them being Quran. So I sat down with it, ‘Our creator’s manual’.I was full of praise for you when I came across the following lines in the Quran which were written more than 1400 yrs back. Your work on the Big Bang theory beautifully explains them.

About the Origin of the universe: In Quran, Chapter 21, Verse 30, God says,

Big bang theory
Big bang theory

A few more lines took me a little further in my endeavor towards understanding the Quran.

About the Expanding universe: In Quran, Chapter 51, Verse 47, God says,

Universe Expansion
Universe Expansion

And about the Big Crunch: In Quran, Chapter 21, Verse 104, God says,

shape of universeOur society owes so much to the numerous scientists who sacrifice their lives for the betterment of the society. Each new discovery forces our minds to admire the great creator who made it all. We have taken thousands of years, only to discover the complexity of His creation and still not know much. Every time we look inside our own bodies, it amazes us with its beauty and intelligent design.

Another thing that amazes me is that our Life is full of choices that we make but has anybody ever thought why we are never asked, ” Do you wish to be born in this world ?” and also death takes away our souls without giving any choice. If birth and death are not in our control then in whose control it is?

This is enough for us to look around for our creator. It does not take much to communicate with Him. Just a clean and a humble heart is enough begging Him for the right guidance. Our conscious or soul has the built-in programme to recognize its creator. We only need to switch on the machine and run the programme! Oh! But if there are any viruses (a doubtful or a biased mind), then that should be cleaned first. Once the communication is established, our heart will know the truth.

Mr. Hawking, you are so much more near to understanding God’s creation than any of us by your knowledge and intelligence. I am sure the whole world is looking forward to the day when you will discover God and we will get to read, ‘ God and His Creation ‘.

Regards

Honeybee

honebee-logo
honeybee.weblog@gmail.com
4 thoughts on “A Letter of Thanks to Stephen Hawking

  1. This is what I believe with every ounce of blood running in my veins. Thank you for writing this but most importantly, thank you for letting me know that there are people out there who think the same way as I’m.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

