Last Breath

Sunset at sea

I had always seen life as an ocean. There was so much to do and explore. As a kid I enjoyed seeing my reflection on still water. I would disturb it trying to make out what will I be like in future. The ripples in water gave me visions to be achieved. That was my sweet innocent childhood. Then as a teenager I dived into pleasures of this life. Who knew those still waters could be so deep. I collected unique treasures from its depth. Those were my experiences for me to cherish. Adulthood was tough.  I wanted more and tried my luck by swimming against tides. I was even attacked by sharks – credit crunches, regression and market crash. Somehow I survived. But, it’s the emotional cyclones and whirlpools caused by those close to heart that hit me hard. Many accompanied me in my journey but I felt alone. Something was missing. My health deteriorated as I got old.  My appetite for adventure faded away. Now as I float through my memories of the past I realize – this ocean was never my life. It was just a distraction which stole moments of my life.

Life is moments between dawn and dusk.  Yes, my birth and death. Now as I see my life drain, I wonder, what have I done with the light I was blessed? The light – my time was spent to collect things which would be of no avail after my life sets.  I would be forgotten.  And, those for whom I struggled will also be allured by the ocean of distractions which the world has to offer. If only I had learnt to appreciate what I had and walked on the path of our Lord, the life would have been more purposeful. Now I know what I was thirsty for.  It was the light of faith from Almighty which would never set. Anything else is as good as sea water, which cannot be drunk. I might have not done much but I am tiered and eager to return to Him. His mercy is vaster than ocean and that’s where I would like to drown.  I repent to You my lord. Forgive me.

You may be a big fish in a small pond or a blue whale in ocean, but ultimately your time would run out  too. It’s better to prepare early for the sun set.

Preprinted in wolfpublisher

For the list of other posts please click here.

Leave a Reply

